Who We Are

In January 2007, former U.S. Marshals Service Director John Clark announced the decision that Fort Smith, Arkansas would be the home of the U.S. Marshals Museum. This exciting announcement culminated a highly-competitive site selection process that spanned several years. The dedicated group of volunteers who had represented Fort Smith throughout this selection process had work incredibly hard to earn this honor for our community.

With the site designation in hand, the work then expanded and escalated. Bringing this Museum to life has required the endurance and unwavering dedication of: the Museum staff and Board of Directors, Museum Foundation staff and Board of Directors, our community, and our generous donors.


Our Mission

The Mission of the U.S. Marshals Museum is to serve as a national center of heritage and legacy, disseminate knowledge, and inspire appreciation for the accomplishments of the U.S. Marshals Service.

Our Vision

The U.S. Marshals Museum inspires Americans across the country—both now and for future generations—to live with the core values of the U.S. Marshals Service: “Justice, Integrity, and Service.”

U.S. Marshals Museum


Benjamin Johnson 

President and CEO

Over his 20-year museum career, Ben has served in nearly every capacity within the museum industry. Johnson comes to the USMM from the Putnam Museum and Science Center in Davenport, Iowa, where he was Vice President of Museum Experience. Johnson is responsible for all aspects of museum operations and the guest experience. Prior to Putnam, Johnson was the Executive Director of The Glenn H. Curtiss Museum in Hammondsport, New York. At Curtiss, he grew annual visits and revenues over a successful five-year stint as the Museum leader.


Chief Financial Officer: Tracie Jacobstjacobs@usmmuseum.org

Chief Programs Officer: Leslie Higgins – lhiggins@usmmuseum.org

Director of Building and Grounds: Dana Hill  – dhill@usmmuseum.org

Director of Guest Relations: Jennifer Seaton-Rambo  – jseatonrambo@usmmusuem.org

Sales Manager: Satori Evans – sevans@usmmuseum.org

Development Assistant: Casey Faber – cfaber@usmmuseum.org

Marketing Coordinator: Hannah Green – hgreen@usmmuseum.org

Outreach Manager: Veronica Luna-Geels  – vlunageels@usmmuseum.org



Dr. Terisa Riley

Chair, USMM Board of Directors

Dr. Terisa Riley, chancellor of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith, has taken over the position of chair of the Museum Board as of Jan. 1, 2024. Dr. Terisa C. Riley was named chancellor of the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith on April 16, 2019, and began her appointment on July 1 that year. Dr. Riley earned her bachelor’s degree in communication and master’s degree in higher education administration from the University of Missouri at Columbia and her doctorate in higher education administration and research methodology from Saint Louis University. She is also a graduate of the National Police Institute and the Governor’s Executive Development Program at the University of Texas at Austin. She is dedicated to serving her community.




  • Dewaine Allen
  • Trace Andres
  • Doug Babb
  • Ashleigh Bachert
  • Geoffrey Deas
  • Lenny DePaul 
  • Catherine Foreman-Gray
  • Christy Ivey 
  • Claude Legris
  • Nancy McGillivray
  • Philip Merry
  • Jamie Moore
  • Michael Pearson
  • James Reilly, Ph. D. 
  • Charolette Tidwell
  • David Turk
  • Bennie Westphal
  • Scott Zuerker

U.S. Marshals Museum Foundation


Susan Neyman

Chief Development Officer, USMM Foundation President 

Susan Neyman has a passion for serving the needs of others through a twenty-plus-year career in the non-profit field, including experience in fundraising and executive leadership for causes including cancer support, Alzheimer’s, ALS, developmental disabilities, and performing arts. Most recently she was a senior development officer for the National Military Family Association. She was integral in helping raise over $1B for the University of Arkansas’ “Campaign for the 21st Century.” She holds BSBA in Business Administration from the University of Arkansas, an MBA from the U of A Walton College of Business, and a doctoral degree in Higher Education Administration, also from University of Arkansas.




Cynthia Coughlin

Chair, USMM Foundation Board of Directors

Born in New York City and raised in the San Francisco Bay area, Cynthia Coughlin moved to Northwest Arkansas in 1978. Her community service initiatives have included serving as the Chairman of the Board of both the Bentonville-Bella Vista Boys & Girls Club and the Walton Arts Center, as well as maintaining Board Member seats with the Botanical Gardens of the Ozarks, the Washington Regional Medical Foundation, Circle of Life Hospice, and serving on the Bentonville School Board. Additionally, she has acted as an Advisory Board Member of the Symphony of North Arkansas, as former President of the Bentonville Garden Club, and as a National Board Member of Rebuilding Together. Presently, Cynthia maintains Board seats on the Police Athletic League and the Law Enforcement Assistance Program. Cynthia is the recipient of the Freedom Corp Award from President George W. Bush for her work with the Boys & Girls Club, and has also received the Louise Thadden Business Woman of the Year, and the Rabbitt Dickerson Awards from the Bentonville Chamber of Commerce. Today, Cynthia operates Coughlin’s Ranch, a cattle breeding operation that specializes in registered Black Angus that she has run since 1984.


Robert A. Young III

Chairman Emeritus, USMM Foundation Board of Directors

Mr. Young worked with Arkansas Best Corporation for 52 years, serving as President from 1973 to 2004, CEO from 1988 to 2006 and Board Chairman from 2004 to 2016. From 1979 to 1994, Mr. Young also served as the President of ABF Freight System Inc., guiding ABF through a period of tremendous growth that resulted in ABF becoming a nationwide motor carrier.





  • Doug Babb
  • Neff Basore
  • Carl Caulk
  • Dwight Curry
  • Ryan Gehrig
  • Megan Goins
  • David Harlow
  • Robert Hornberger
  • Ken Kilgore
  • John Schmelzle